Our Team

Meet The Staff

Deborah Rudel

Deborah Rudel

Chief Executive Officer

630.896.4636 x102

Deborah Rudel has spent her career helping others to Live United.

Deborah began her career with Fox Valley United Way over 15 years ago. Her career at Fox Valley United Way began as Director of Administration, advancing to Director of Community Events and, most recently, Director of Operations. Two years ago, Deborah accepted the leadership role at FVUW. Her focus has been on supporting new FVUW initiatives and community resources that benefit those who live in the Fox Valley area. Rudel is passionate about supporting impactful change to uplift all community members.

Deborah volunteers with animal advocacy groups and embraces family time with her husband and grandchildren.

Lisa Foydel

Lisa Foydel

Director of Engagement

630.896.4636 x110

Lisa Foydel joined Fox Valley United Way full-time after two years of working as a consultant representing Kane County 211. In addition to 211, Lisa is working on two new initiatives: UNITED for ALICE and Women United. Lisa has a volunteer's heart and truly embraces what it means to Live United.

Outside work, Lisa volunteers with several other community-based organizations and enjoys spending time with her family, friends, and her yellow Lab, Wrigley.

JD Ostergaard

J.D. Ostergaard

Director of Development

630.896.4636 x104

Born and raised in the Fox Valley community J.D.'s experience in community impact comes from 14 years as a parks and recreation manager and event management specialist.

J.D. is a Ball State University Graduate with a degree in Communications and Theater. He moved back to Aurora in 2019 after time in Los Angeles and Chicago to raise his growing family and reset roots in a diverse and growing community. J.D. is excited to get to work expanding the reach and impact of Fox Valley United Way.

Rosa Side

Rosaisela Sida

Director of Early Childhood Initiatives

630.896.4636 x108

Rosa has over 20 years of experience in the non-profit sector in Aurora, working in areas of home visiting, father involvement, emergency assistance, and mental health. She has a Master’s Degree from Aurora University in Social Work, and her passion is to advocate for families with children. Rosa lives in Aurora where she and her husband have raised three children.

Nancy Zenner

Nancy Zenner


630.896.4636 x106

Nancy works part-time as our bookkeeper. She is responsible for United Way’s unique workplace campaign accounting and ensuring that each donation is allocated correctly. This often includes researching and documenting donor designation and outside agency information. Additionally, Nancy handles all payroll, accounts payables, and accounts receivables, working on annual audits and budgets, and providing various financial reports.  Nancy enjoys working with numbers and detailed information.

Outside of work, Nancy enjoys spending time with her family & friends, working on home projects, & lots of traveling.

Our Board of Directors

Executive Team

Mark Mooney
Board Chair
Finance Committee
DHJ&J Ltd.

Terese Raabe
Board Vice-Chair
Impact/Investment Committee
Rush Copley Medical Center

Kelly McDonough
Finance Chair
Earthmover Credit Union

Karen Yaggie
Board Secretary
Community Resource Committee Co-Chair
DeNova Detect

Stacey Ries
Past-Board Chair
Women United Chair
Impact/Investment Chair
Rush Copley Medical Center


Michele Clark
City of Aurora

Joe Donar
Crossfit Kokua

Joe Espinosa
Community Volunteer

Laura Koski
Old Second National Bank

Maria Manzo
Congressman Bill Foster, 11th District of Illinois

Mansa Latham

Our Volunteer Committees

Community Resource

Jenny Everhart – Co-Chair
Aurora University

Karen Yaggie – Co-Chair
Community Volunteer

Dan Barreiro
Retired City of Aurora

LaDonna Carr
City of Aurora

Jeff Kuczora
Community Volunteer

Emily Morales
Aurora University

Michael Perez
Cordogan Clark

Marisa Richards
Painters District Council 30

Impact / Investment

Michael Isaacson
Kane County Health Department

Terese Raabe
Rush Copley Medical Center

Marisa Richards
Painters District Council 30

Stacey Ries
Rush Copley Medical Center

Melinda Tejada
Waubonsee Community College

SPARK Executive

Doug Eccarius
Indian Prairie School District 204

Keysha Hoffman
One Hope United

Rosary Horne 
East Aurora School District 131

Joe Jackson     
Hesed House

Laurie Klomhaus
West Aurora School District 129

Sarah Waddell
West Aurora School District 129